POLITICAL SCIENCE NOTES – PART I

- 1. Indian constitution is the longest written constitution.
- 2. Federalism: Union List 100 subjects, State List 61 subjects and Concurrent list 52 Subjects. (given in 7th Schedule of the Constitution
- 3. 8th Schedule gives the list of 22 Languages recognized by the Constitution of India
- 4. The Constitution was drafted by the Constitution Assembly under the chairmanship of Dr. Rajendra Prasad. The Chief of drafting Committee was Dr. Ambedkar. The time taken for drafting the Constitution was 2 years, 11 months and 18 days. The Constitution was formerly adopted on 26 November 1949 and came into force on 26 January 1950. 26 January was decided as Declaration of Poorna Swaraj was made on 26 January in 1930 by Jawahar Lal Nehru.
- 5. Drafting Committee of Constitution adopted the best features suiting to India from the Constitutions of other countries

Country	Provision Adopted
Canada	Quasi Federal System
	Strong Center
UK	Parliamentary form of Government
	Rule of Law
USA	Fundamental Rights
	Judicial Review
	Independent Judiciary
USSR	Fundamental Duties
Ireland	Directive Principles of State Policy
Germany	Emergency Provisions
France	Ideals of Liberty
	Equality
	Fraternity

- 6. Indian Constitution is Quasi Federal: (Quasi means half both Unitary as well as Federal)
 - Single Citizenship
 - Common Election Commission
 - Common Comptroller & Auditor General for India
 - Hierarchical Judiciary
 - Center has Powers of Declaring Emergencies
 - Centre can alter jurisdiction of States as well as can create new States
 - Separate Union List and State List
 - Constitution is Supreme
 - Constitution is Rigid as well as Flexible

7. **PREAMBLE**

The preamble to the constitution of India is a introduction to the Constitution. It sets out

- guiding principles of the document
- it highlights the entire Constitution
- it is heart of the Constitution

We, THE PEOPLE OF INDIA, having solemnly resolved to constitute India into a SOVEREIGN SOCIALIST SECULAR DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC and to secure to all its citizens

JUSTICE, social, economic and political

LIBERTY of thought, expression, belief, faith and worship

EQUALITY of status and of opportunity and to promote among them all

FRATERNITY assuring the dignity of the individual and the unity and integrity of the Nation

In OUR CONSTITUENT ASSEMBLY THIS 26th day of November 1949, do HEREBY ADOPT, ENACT and GIVE TO OURSELVES THIS CONSTITUTION.

8. FORMATION OF STATES

Article 1 in the Constitution states that India, that is Bharat, shall be a Union of States. The territory of India shall consist of: The territories of the States, The Union Territories and Any territory that may be acquired.

The names of the States and the Unions have been described in the First Schedule.

Article 2: Admission & establishment of new states >> French settlement of Pondicherry & Portuguese settlement of Goa, Daman & Sikkim

Article 3: Formation of new states & alteration of areas, boundaries & names of existing states (Power vested only in parliament)

How it is Processed:

- A bill regarding formation of new states / alteration of name or area of existing states is introduced in parliament only on the recommendation of president who shall refer it to state but is not bound to act upon states views.
- If the said bill is passed by both the houses by simple majority then after presidential assents it comes into action.
- In case of union territories, it is not even necessary for president to obtain views of legislatures of union territories.

Formation of States after Independence:

At the time of Independence, Indian States were grouped into four groups:

Part A- includes the nine provinces which were under British India

Part B- princely states considered of this Category

Part C- Centrally administered five states

Part D- Andaman and Nicobar Islands

In the seventh amendment of the Constitution in 1956 the distinction between the Part A and Part B states was abolished.

However, there was always a demand for demarcating the states on Linguistic basis.

Hence constituent assembly formed Linguistic Province commission (LPC) to look into the matter (Headed by S.K. Dhar) – June, 1948

LPC headed by Dhar supported reorganization on the basis of administrative convenience rather than on Linguistic basis

In Dec, 1948 a second LPC was formed to again verify the report given by Dhar & look into the matter again >>> Members (J.L. Nehru, Vallabh Bhai Patel &

Pattabhi sitaramayya) Gave the same report as given by Dhar, hence on 26th Jan, 1950 division took place as mentioned above.

There was an agitation for Andhra Pradesh. Potti Sriramulu died after 56 days of hunger strike.

In October 1953 ANDHRA PRADESH was carved out as $\mathbf{1}^{st}$ state creation on the lines of linguistic criteria.

State Reorganization Commission was set up with Fazal Ali as Chairman and H N Kunzru and K M Pannakar as its members.

They recommended:

- -Abolition of 4 groups classification
- -Creation of 16 States & Centrally administered territories

This led to:

States Reorganization Act: 1956 (7th Amendment): Formation of 14 states and 6 union territories

Formation of More States:

Bombay reorganization act, 1960: Formation of Gujrat

- State of Nagaland act, 1962: Nagaland as separated state from Assam
- Punjab reorganization act, 1966 : Formation of Haryana
- New state of Himachal Pradesh act, 1970
- North eastern reorganization act, 1971: Formation of Manipur, Tripura,
 Meghalaya, Mizoram & Union territories of Arunachal Pradesh & Mizoram
- New state of Sikkim act, 1975
- State of Arunachal Pradesh Act, State of Mizoram act 1986: Formation of States of Mizoram & Ar. Pradesh
- State of Goa Act, 1987
- Reorganization act, 2000 : Formation of Chhattisgarh
- Reorganization act, 2000: Formation of Uttarakhand
- Bihar reorganization act, 2000: Formation of Jharkhand
- Andhra Pradesh reorganization act, 2014: Formation of Telangana

9. CITIZENSHIP

Indian citizenship act, 1955:

- Indian constitution provides single citizenship to all irrespective of the states a person belongs to
- Constitution simply describes classes of people deemed to be citizens of India as on 26th Jan 1950 & leaves entire law of citizenship to be regulated by parliamentary laws

Parliament enacted Indian citizenship act, 1955 for acquisition & loss of Indian citizenship. Since its commencement it has been amended four times:

- The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 1986.
- The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 1992.
- The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2003.
- The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2005.

According to Indian citizenship act, 1955, Indian citizenship was extended to citizens of commonwealth countries but this law was repealed by amendment in 2003

Acquisition of Indian Citizenship-Citizenship act, 1955

Citizenship by birth: Every person born in India on or after January 26, 1950, shall be a citizen of India by birth.

Citizenship by descent: A person born outside India on or after January 26, 1950, shall be a citizen of India by descent if either of his parents is a citizen of India at the time of the person's birth.

Citizenship by registration: A person can acquire Indian citizenship by registering themselves before the prescribed authority, e.g. persons of Indian origin who are ordinarily resident in India and have been so for five years immediately before making the application for registration; persons who are married to citizens of India.

Citizenship by naturalization: A foreigner can acquire Indian citizenship, on application for naturalisation to the Government of India.

Citizenship by Incorporation of territory: If any new territory becomes a part of India, the Government of India shall specify the persons of that territory as citizens of India.

Termination of Indian Citizenship:

- Renunciation by Voluntary Act.
- After acquiring the citizenship of another country.
- Deprivation of citizenship by an order of the Government of India.
